Friday, 22 February 2019 - Issue 68
Report a pothole

Wellington Street upgrade

This week the team at Wellington Street have begun laying the segregated cycle and footpath outside the Queen’s Tap pub. 

Lighting columns have been removed along Milford street and new drainage connections have been installed in various places.

Watch Project Manager Laura explains why we are completing the major construction project and what benefits it will bring to residents and commuters who move between the station and town centre.

Find out more about the Wellington Street upgrade

Mead Way improvements

From Monday, 4 March, we will start clearing the trees and plants around Mead Way so we are ready to widen the road in the autumn.

This will mean that the road from the Meads roundabout to Westmead roundabout will be closed during off-peak hours (9.30am to 3.30pm) until Tuesday, 12 March.

You can find out more about the work here

Updating the signs along Blagrove

Our Traffic Management team have recently undertaken a review of the signs at the Blagrove Roundabout and part of Great Western Way to reflect the changes at Junction 16. As a result, a number of signs have been redesigned and we will begin updating them from Monday, 18 March.

The work will take place on both the Eastbound and Westbound side of Great Western Way and on Blagrove Roundabout between 9am- 3.30pm. 

Free parking on Sundays

Shoppers and businesses are set to benefit from the introduction of free parking in the town centre on Sundays from 7 April.

The aim is to help residents and businesses by ensuring that people get to enjoy one day a week where they do not have to pay to park.

Read more about free parking on Sundays

Improving traffic flow along Drakes Way and Ocotal Way

Work began on Monday (18 Feb) to upgrade the traffic lights at the junction of Drakes Way and Ocotal Way. In addition to new energy-efficient traffic lights, the control software is also being updated to improve traffic flow in the area.

During the work, road users will not be able to turn right into Ocotal Way from Drakes Way and a diversion route is in place via Drakes Roundabout. The work is scheduled to last until Wednesday, 6 March.

Upcoming pothole repairs

Provisional dates and time of road closures are below.

  • Sparcells Drive- Tuesday, 26 February - Friday, 1 March (8am-6pm)
  • Flint Hill- Thursday, 28 February - Saturday, 2 March (8am-6pm weekdays, 9am-5pm Weekends)
  • Stokesay Drive- Monday, 4 March and Tuesday, 5 March (8am-6pm)
  • Rowton Heath Way- Tuesday, 5 March - Thursday, 7 March (8am-6pm)
  • Gainsborough Way- Saturday, 9 March - Sunday, 10 March (Saturday 8am-6pm, Sunday 9am-5pm)
  • St Michaels Avenue, Highworth- Wednesday, 13 March - Friday 15 March (8am-6pm weekdays, 9am-5pm Weekends)
  • The Avenue, Highworth- Monday, 18 March -  Tuesday, 19 March(8am-6pm)
  • Liden Drive- Monday, 25 March - Wednesday 27 March (8am-6pm)
  • Mays Lane and High Street, Chiseldon- Thursday, 28 March - Friday, 29 March (8am-6pm)
Roadworks

No right turn into Ocotal Way from Drakes Way

Upgrading traffic lights, 24/7 restriction until Wednesday, 6 March

Kingshill Road, A4289

Multi-way traffic lights while Wales and West upgrade the gas mains. Work continues until Friday, 1 March

Wellington Street Improvements

24/7 road closure until May 2019

Facebook Twitter

Copyright © 2019. Swindon Borough Council. All rights reserved.

Swindon Borough Council is responsible for the repair of patches and potholes to all public highways within the Borough. To report a pothole, use the button link at the top of the page.

If you would like to report any highway problems or would like to provide feedback on the newsletter please email: hppd@swindon.gov.uk 

Swindon Borough Council, Civic Offices, Euclid Street, Swindon, SN1 2JH

Want to change how you receive these emails? You can unsubscribe from Highways News at any time.

Unsubscribe

MailerLite